Choose artist...
Yannick Nezet-Seguin

Schumann: Symphonies

Deutsche Grammophon

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Yannick Nezet-Seguin: Robert Schumann, The Symphonies - Album trailer
Yannick Nezet-Seguin on Programming Philadelphia Orchestra Concerts
Tchaikovsky: Fantasy-Overture 'Romeo and Juliet' (Yannick Nezet-Seguin)
1 Schumann: Symphony No.1 in B Flat, Op.38 - Andante un poco maestoso
2 Larghetto
3 Scherzo (Molto vivace)
4 Allegro animato e grazioso
5 Symphony No.4 in D Minor, Op.120 - Ziemlich langsam ? Lebhaft
6 Romanze (Ziemlich langsam)
7 Scherzo
8 Langsam-Lebhaft-Schneller-Presto
9 Symphony No.2 in C, Op.61 - Sostenuto assai
10 Scherzo (Allegro vivace)
11 Adagio espressivo
12 Allegro molto vivace
13 Symphony No.3 in E Flat, Op.97 ? Lebhaft
14 Scherzo
15 Nicht Schnell
16 Feierlich
17 Lebhaft
Show all tracks

Canadian Maestro Yannick Nézet-Séguin is set to release Schumann: Symphonies Nos. 1-4, his first recording of a complete symphony cycle for Deutsche Grammophon. Captured live at acclaimed concerts in Paris, Nézet-Séguin conducts one of the world's preeminent chamber orchestras, the Chamber Orchestra of Europe. For this recording, Nézet-Séguin takes a new approach on familiar music while challenging the conventional view on Schumann's symphonies. "He's one of those composers whose personality is completely expressed in their music…those fluctuations between the melancholy and something very inward-looking are combined with a manic kind of energy that wants to conquer the world. That's what is so special about Schumann," states Nézet-Séguin.

42 New 'ON'  47 TOTAL
SYND: PRI/Classical 24
 SiriusXM, Music Choice, MOOD
Markets include: New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, San Francisco, Boston, Philadelphia, Wash DC, Dallas, Atlanta, Cleveland, St. Louis, Minneapolis, Portland, Denver, Pittsburgh, Cincinnati, New Orleans, Detroit, Austin, Memphis, Louisville
Online: Taintradio

Go to artist details